Council, mayoral election set for April 1

The mayoral post and three council seats are up for grabs in April’s municipal election.

Completing two four-year terms, both Mayor Dan Porter and Councilman Matt Keefauver will be forced to relinquish their posts because of term limits. First terms for Councilmen Bob Archibeque, elected in 2010, and Councilwoman Shawna McLaughlin, elected in 2012, are also ending. Both are expected to run as incumbents.

On April 1, voters will decide on each of the four posts. To be placed on the ballot, the city requires nomination petitions with at least 25 signatures for each candidate.

Candidate hopefuls must be registered voters, be 21 or older and have resided within city limits for a at least 12 consecutive months before the election.

Councilmembers Karen Sheek, Ty Keel and Tom Butler will remain in office through 2016.

The deadline to file to run in the election is Feb. 28.

For more, call the city clerk at (970) 564-4008.