Fire district to hold election

Six candidates seeking 3 seats

Six candidates are seeking three seats in the upcoming Cortez Fire Protection District election.

The polling place for the May 6, election is Cortez Fire Station 1 at 30 N. Ash Street in Cortez.

Six candidates, including Sherri Wright, James Kent Lindsay, Nick Randall, Diane Fox, Larry D. Sharp and Jerry Ayers, are vying for one of three seats on the board. Each post is a four-year term.

The last day to request an absentee ballot for the Cortez Fire Protection District election is Friday, May 2. Applications for absentee ballots should be filed with Wendy Mimiaga at 23 N. Washington St. For more, call (970) 565-3157.

In related news, the Cortez Sanitation District and the Lewis-Arriola Fire Protection District will hold mail-in elections on May 6.

The Cortez Journal mistakenly reported both would be polling place elections, but instead, mail-in ballots will decide the Cortez Sanitation District and Lewis-Arriola Fire Protection District board members.

Candidates for one of three four-year posts with the Cortez Sanitation District include incumbents Dave Waters and David Kimble and challengers Ray Fox, Tim Robinson and Ryan Griglak.

Candidates for the Lewis-Arriola Fire Protection District include Douglas Muscanell and Kathryn Kay Garlinghouse, both seeking to fill two four-year terms, and Thomas Gilliland, William Blackmer and Rick Newby are battling for two two-year terms.

Ballots for both the Cortez Sanitation District and the Lewis Arriola Fire Protection District are scheduled to be mailed to voters by April 21.